Skip to content or main menu

Mayor's Annual Celebration of Volunteers

The 2018 St. Albert Mayor’s Annual Celebration of Volunteers will took place on October 11, 2018.

What an incredible evening of recognizing and awarding the selfless hearts of our city! Thank you St. Albert for celebrating our Good Neighbours, Unsung Heroes and youth Leaders of Tomorrow with us at the Mayor’s Annual Celebration of Volunteers. Last night, we were pleased to announce Craig Pilgrim as our newest Volunteer Citizen of the Year! Craig continues to inspire the city with his volunteer work and contributions to many of our local organizations, and we are so lucky to have him a part of our community. The winners of the Leaders of Tomorrow category include: Mattias Nesset, the Sir George Simpson Grade 9 Leadership Team, and the Bertha Kennedy Healthy Bobkat Leadership Team. In addition, Joshua Dechaine and Jaedon Leslie were recognized for their work on the Humbolt Bronco Memorial Tournament and were awarded the special Community Leadership Award. We also want to extend our gratitude to special guests Mayor Cathy Heron, MLA Marie Renaud, Councillor Ken MacKay, Councillor Ray Watkins, City Manager Kevin Scoble, Neighbourhood Development Coordinator Angie Dedrick, and CIVC board chair Kyla Prystupa for your support of this event. We’d also like to thank Dan Roy of Roy Financial for your amazing sponsorship, UPS for your printing services, and the St. Albert Seniors Association for your fantastic volunteers and use of your facilities! This event would not have been possible without the hard work and assistance of all of the volunteers, dignitaries, sponsors, and staff of St. Albert CIVC.

Thank you to everyone who attended!



To learn more about the awards that are to be presented, please read the helpful nomination process document.

Event History

In 2016 the work began to transform our Annual Volunteer Recognition Awards. Through a partnership with the Mayor’s Office we combined several of the City of St. Albert’s Award programs with our Volunteer Citizen of the Year and Leaders of Tomorrow Awards program. The result? The Mayor’s Annual Celebration of Volunteers!

The most recent ceremony took place on Tuesday, May 16, 2017, at which over 45 St. Albert volunteers were recognized. These people are our community’s Good Neighbours, Unsung Heroes, Leaders of Tomorrow, and Volunteer Citizen of the Year. We are so fortunate to have such an amazing volunteer community in our city!

Pictured: Volunteer Citizen of the Year Trudy Kueber with then-Mayor Nolan Crouse & Council.

Nominations for the 2019 Mayor’s Annual Celebration of Volunteers will open in December 2018!!

Ways to Nominate

Nominations can be submitted by completing the form found on this webpage, by video, by printing / faxing your copy to CIVC, emailing your form to [email protected], or by dropping off your nomination in person to our office. If you require any additional assistance through the nomination process, please feel free to visit our office at #10, 215 Carnegie Drive or call us at 780–459-6666.

The process for MACOV nominations (click the link below):
Nomination Process

The MACOV nomination form for print out (click the link below):
MACOV Nomination Form

Video nominations are being accepted at:

You can also submit your nomination online! Nominations are closed for this year, however next year our online form will be available again for submissions in December 2018.